Being a Mom · Cancer · Faith · Life · Sophie

What I’ve learned in one week of being a Cancer mom…(May 25th) 

So, on May 18th, 2017 we were rushed to our local ER with our 2 year old Sophie because she stopped breathing at home. It’s a small town so we were then ambulanced to Dallas to Children’s once they stabilized her. A very long night and a lot of tests revealed a softball sized tumor in her chest, blocking her airway and part of her heart. Life stopped. I began chronicling our journey on Facebook and honestly forgot that I had a blog page. We are 2 Months in now and I’ve decided to go back and revisit the posts I’ve already made and insert them into this blog. So I’m going to backdate a post every day until I’m caught up to the present. I welcome anyone who wants to come along on the journey with me…

Ps- we named her tumor Shonda 

May 25, 2017

What I’ve learned in one week of being a Cancer mom…1. 2 year olds get cancer 

2. Some kids have to be at the hospital alone because parents have to work.

3. There’s 43 ceiling tiles in this hospital room.

4. Playing IV pole Tetris in the playroom is sad.

5. HEPA filters are magic for allergies

6. Chemo comes out in urine 

7. I literally have a toddler on steroids.

8. It’s a 0.6 mile walk from Children’s to the Ronald McDonald House. 

9. Less than 5 miles from the hell that is the cancer wing- is Highland Park 

10. My husband is truly the greatest thing that’s ever happened to me. 

11. There are no tissues in the hospital chapel 

12. This hospital food is really good. 

13. A hot shower and a nap change everything. 

14. ‘No Owies’ is the saddest thing I’ve ever heard. 

15. I can feel 5 emotions in a 30 minute period. 

16. I can function on 43 hours of being awake.

17. Children’s hospitals are amazing places.

18. My child is the most mature and brave toddler I’ve ever seen. 

19. There’s no way I’ll ever be able to thank everyone that’s helped us this week. 

20. There are truly amazing people in this world.

The most important: the answer to ‘How do you do it?’…. You just do, because there’s no other choice. 
#cancermom #Sophiethebrave #BTHOshonda #LymphomaSucks #Godisbigger

Leave a Reply

